Hockey: 'Vijayans Trophy' 7s next weekend

Tuesday, 4 September 2018 Sport

Matale Old Vijayans Sports Club together with Past Pupils Association of Vijaya National School Matale comes out to deliver another fascinating edition (19th in the series) of the 'Vijayans Trophy' All-Island Open Inter-Club Hockey 7s 2018 sponsored by Nestle Sri Lanka and cosponsored by Singer Sri Lanka on September 8 and 9 at the picturesque Edward Park Hockey Ground in Matale, commencing at 7.30 am on both days. 

Undoubtedly, this tournament (Nijabima Satana) is the much awaited, much talked about all island inter club hockey sevens tournament which has won the hearts of all club hockey players who have taken part in this annual tournament. 

The previous 18 tournaments were conducted on a high note and they had attracted not only the best of teams amongst the clubs affiliated to SL.H.F but also foreign teams too. 

According to the tournament director Major B.G.R. Fernando the 19th edition of this hockey fiesta in the city of Matale (Cradle of Hockey) will attract 40 (men and women) best teams from clubs including Army, Navy, Air Force and Police and also two overseas men’s teams from Bhasha Khan Hockey Club Peshawar in Pakistan and Madurai Hockey Club Chennai in India. 

The matches will be conducted on a league cum knock out format with a high standard of hockey on show during the two days. 

The country's top most umpires will officiate at this tournament which is played on three categories cup, bowl and plate with glittering trophies and medals on offer. 

In addition to the coveted ' Vijayans Challenge Trophy ' for mens cup champions winners and runners up in both categories will receive Nestle Challenge trophies (donated by Nestle Sri Lanka) and attractive cash prizes - mens cup champions Rs. 50000/= , women’s champions Rs. 25000/=, men’s cup runners up Rs. 25000/= , women’s runner up Rs. 15000/=. 

Last year Sri Lanka Army beat Police SC 2 - 1 in the final to win the mens title while Navy won the women’s title by beating SL Air Force 1 - 0 in the finals. 

The mayor of Matale Daljith Aluvihare will grace the opening ceremony on Saturday 8th of September at 7.30 am.

Hockey: 'Vijayans Trophy' 7s next weekend