Cricket: SLC releases names of 49 veterans to be felicitated

Wednesday, 5 September 2018 Sport

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Tuesday (4) launched the programme to felicitate ex-cricketers, who represented Sri Lanka during the pre-Test era.

Among the first batch of cricketers, who were felicitated are Dr. H.I.K. Fernando, Daya Sahabandu, Amitha de Costa, M. Devaraj, T.B. Kehelgamuwa, N. Kodituwakku, A.C.M. Laffir; Ranjan Gunatilleke and Lasantha Rodrigo.

"This was done during a simple ceremony held at the Ministry of Sports, with the participation of; the Minister of Sports- Faiszer Musthapa, Competent Authority of the SLC- Kamal Pathmasiri and the SLC CEO- Ashley de Silva," SLC, issuing a media statement, said.

"SLC will felicitate the rest of the cricketers in due course."

Under this latest scheme SLC have selected 49 ex-cricketers to offer a memento, whilst 12 of them are also included in a scheme to be given ex-gratia payments, which will be renewed annually, under the discretion of the SLC management.

The 49 Past Cricketers to be felicitated: Ranjan Gunatilleke, Amitha de Costa, M. Deveraj, Dr. H.I.K. Fernando, Russel Harmer, Stanley Jayasinghe, T.B. Kehelgamuwa, N. Kodituwakku, A.C.M. Laffir, Gulam Razick, Lasantha Rodrigo, Daya Sahabandu, Dennis Chanmugam, Hemantha Devapriya, Lantra Fernando, Bernard Rulach, Jerry Woutersz, T.A. Buhar, Stanley de Alwis, Malcom Franke, Ronald Reid, C.T.A. Schaffter, Dr. C. Balakrishnan, F. Crozier, D.P. de Silva, Ranjit Fernando, Lionel Fernando, L.R. Goonetilleke, Kirthi Gunaratne, Nirmal Hettarachchi, David Heyn, Clive Inman, D.W.L. Lieversz, Brian Obeysekera, A.R.M. Opatha, J. Paranathala, Mevan Peiris, D. Piachaud, A. Polonowita, M. Ponniah, S. Rajapakse, Dr. B.G. Reid, Jayantha Seneviratne, Anura Tennekoon, B.W.R. Thomas, Michael Tissera, D. Weerasinghe, Dr. Cyril Ernest, Dr. Sarath Wimalaratne.

Cricket: SLC releases names of 49 veterans to be felicitated